Obala Kulina bana bb
Type: Architecture, Historical, National Treasure
The Ješua D. Salom Mansion was built in 1901 across from Aškenazi Synagogue for the prominent Jewish merchant, Ješua D. Salom, and was designed by the famous Josip Vancaš.
It was built, along with several other objects, during the Austro-Hungarian period, at a time when a statute from 1893 (Construction Regulation for the Capital City – Sarajevo) was in effect. This meant that only two-story buildings could be constructed along the right bank of the Miljacka, from Vijećnica to Drvenija Bridge.
It is one of the earliest examples of constructions that saw the use of floral motifs in Secession architecture for residential buildings. When it was built, it was an avant-garde facility, with running water, indoor plumbing, electricity and a heating system. An inner courtyard with a stone fountain was located behind the building.
The mansion was sold to Simo Krstić in 1922, and it was later taken by the National Bank of BiH in 1931. That same year it was sold to Jacques Salom, director of Dolac, the first match factory in Bosnia.
Beginning in 1962, it was overtaken by the state as a residential-commercial complex. It later served as the headquarters of the Canton Board for the Party for Democratic Action (SDA) in 1991, and was made a National Monument of BiH in 2008.