Safvet-bega Bašagića Street runs from Baščaršija Square all the way to Grlića Brdo.
During the Ottoman period, the street had a smaller section, called Potok, after Ramića Banja Potok (stream). It was covered during the 1930s so that part of the current road could be laid.
Right before the 1931 census, the street was named Miloša Obilića, after a hero from a Serbian epic poem who, according to legend, killed Sultan Murad during the battle of Kosovo in 1389.
During the time of German occupation (1941-1945), it was called Dr. Safvet-bega Bašagića Street, and then re-named, Miloša Obilića at the end of World War II.
The street was given its current name in 1995.
As for Safvet Bey Bašagić, he was born on May 6, 1870 in Nevesinje and studied Arabic and Farsi at Vienna University, where he received his doctorate.
He wrote several dozen books under the pen name, Mirza Safvet. As some of the titles were great literary works, he is considered the founder of the Bosnian literary revival. He also founded several associations, started a journal, served as President of the Diet of Bosnia and worked as a curator at the National Museum of BiH.
Safvet Bey Bašagić died on April 9, 1934 and was buried in the cemetery of Bey’s Mosque, in honor of his place as one of Bosnia’s leading figures.