Mula Mustafe Bašeskije
Trg Djece Sarajeva (Children of Sarajevo Square) is in the city center and is bordered by Mis Irbina St. (south), Radićeva St. (east) and Veliki Park (north).
It was partially formed in 1965, when a commercial building that was home to Dubrovnik Cinema, now Cinema City, was built on the western side.
Space was made for the square by knocking down residential buildings on Mis Irbina, as well as buildings that housed Istra Café (a cult gathering place for Sarajevo’s Bohemians), Gradska kafana, Mali Oloman Sweetshop….
The newly formed Trg Oktobra was named in memory of the Russian Revolution of 1917.
Unima Shopping Center – better known as Sarajka – opened on April 6, 1975 at the behest of famous architect Juraj Neidhardt.
Badly damaged during the last war, Sarajka was demolished in 2007 to make way for BBI Center, which opened on April 6, 2009.
The square was renamed Trg Djece Sarajeva on November 28, 1995.
On May 9, 2009, the Monument to the Children of Besieged Sarajevo was unveiled in nearby Veliki Park to honor the memory of children killed during the Siege of the 1990s.