Obala Kulina bana 1
Type: Architecture, Religious, Historical, National Treasure
When the original Church of St. Anthony was built in 1882, it was the only Catholic church in Sarajevo and it was here that the Archbishop of Sarajevo, Josip Štadler, served until the completion of the Cathedral of Jesus’ Heart (1889).
No Reservations needed
As it was built using poor-quality materials, it was in a dilapidated state only ten years after its construction, so it was decided that a new place of worship be built on the same spot. The new church, as designed by Josip Vancaš, was consecrated on September 20, 1914.
A monastery was added to St. Anthony’s in 1894, which also served as a Franciscan seminary from 1909 until 1968.
The Little Gallery of St. Anthony, located in the basement of the monastery, regularly hosts various cultural events.