Mudželiti veliki bb
Type: Architecture, Religious, Historical, National Treasure
The Aškenazi Synagogue was built in 1902 for Sarajevo’s Jews, who began to arrive in greater numbers once BiH was occupied by the Austro-Hungarian Empire.
The temple is located on the left bank of the Miljacka River, between Drvenija and Ćumurija Bridges, and was designed by the famous architect, Karl Paržik. This was the first religious object to be built in Sarajevo in the Pseudo-Moorish style.
It is believed that Paržik’s designs for this Sarajevo synagogue (at that time, the third largest temple in Europe) were based on the synagogue in Budapest. Construction was entrusted to Ludwig Jungwirth and the work and painting done on the interior was carried out by master painter, Ludwig Oisner.
Even after the Second World War, with the high number of Sarajevo Jews who were lost, the Aškenazi Synagogue remained the only active Jewish temple in the city.