Type: Sarajevo Nature
At Mejdan is a park that is located on the left bank of the Miljacka River, between the bridges, Latinska Ćuprija and Ćumurija. This green space is located in the heart of old Sarajevo and the area, which takes up about 2,500 m2, has changed its name and function many times over the years.
Right after the founding of Sarajevo, this was where public punishments were carried out, and
In 1544, Hajji Alija Bakr-Baba built a mosque in the part of town close to Ćumurija Bridge, while Hajji Ismail
It began to lose its original function at the beginning of the 19th century, as Austro-Hungarian occupation saw the destruction of objects that had stood here, and the square was renamed after Baron Josip Filipović, Commander of the occupational forces that arrived in 1878. By 1905 the square was joined to the nearby Vojni Trg (military square) and the entire area was renamed Trg Franje
Between the First and Second World Wars, the park bore the name of Czar Dušan, the first Serbian Czar, and it officially became a park in 1925. During the Second World War it was named after the writer, Edhem Mulabdić, and following liberation in 1945 it was again named after Dušan Silni (“Dušan the Mighty”). The name, At
The center of the At
In 2015, the western section of the park was opened to serve as At