Hamze Hume bb
Type: The Bridges of Sarajevo
The wooden Ćumurija Bridge was built sometime before 1565, which is the year it is first mentioned in documents. It was originally called Hajji Hasan's Bridge, after the benefactor who had financed its construction.
Ajaš Pasha's mahala was the seat of the swordsmith guild, and it was from this bridge that the swordmakers would dump the ashes from the burned charcoal (ćumur, which was used in stoking the fires used in making their swords) into the Miljacka.
The bridge still retains the name that was used locally in reference to the ćumur – ćumurija.
The bridge was severely damaged during several floods, so the original wooden structure was replaced by a steel bridge which was built primarily to help with the construction of the Bosanski Brod-Zenica railway line.
Starting in 1919, the bridge was called Zrinjskog Most, after the Croatian ban, Petar Zrinski. It was renamed Ćumurija in 1993.
After undergoing a thorough reconstruction in 2002, the bridge was opened to motor traffic.