Hamdije Kreševljakovića 59
Type: Architecture, Historical, National Treasure
Gazi Husrev Bey’s Bezistan (covered bazaar), also called Old Bezistan and Great Bezistan, is part of Gazi Husrev Bey’s vakuf (endowment). It is presumed that the structure was built around 1540.
During the Ottoman period, the shops inside traded textiles and the outdoor shops, which ran along the eastern side of the building on Gazi Husrev Bey Street, belonged to the metalworkers’ čaršija and gold and silver jewelry was produced and sold here.
There are four entrances to the bazaar: two come from Gazi Husrev Bey’s Street, one is on Ferhadija and another on Branilaca Sarajeva.
Another structure, Tašlihan (Stone Inn), was built at the same time as Bezistan. Built along the western wall, the inn made the bazaar a unique complex, which was at the center of trade in Sarajevo during the Ottoman period.
After being badly damaged during a fire in 1879, a large portion of Tašlihan was knocked down. The remains of the inn now comprise part of Hotel Europe’s summer garden.