Obala Kulina bana
Gazi Husrev-Begova Street runs from Zelenih Beretki St. in the south to Mula Mustafe Bašeskije St. in the north.
It is also known as Zlatarska (Goldsmith’s St.) because of the goldsmith and jewelry shops found here. Exactly halfway down the street is the popular Slatko Ćoše (Sweet Corner), which takes its name from the popular sweet shops that are located on the corners of two streets that meet here – Ferhadija and Sarači.
This street formed in the first half of the 16th century as part of Gazi Husrev Bey’s mahala and during the Ottoman and Austro-Hungarian periods it was divided into two separate streets – Veliki Kujundžiluk and Predimare.
Veliki Kujundžiluk, which takes its name from the goldsmiths who worked here, ran from where Zelenih Beretki is today to where Ferhadija and Sarači now meet. The section of the street that runs from Slatko Ćoše to Mula Mustafe Bašeskije was known as Predimare, Pred Imaretom and Imaret Čaršija, after the public kitchen that provided free meals for travelers and the poor.
In 1931, Veliki Kujundžiluk and Predimare were combined to form one street, Gazi Husrev-Begova, which was named after the Ottoman Governor of BiH who served during the first half of the 16th century and had hundreds of objects built throughout the old town, making him Sarajevo’s greatest benefactor.