Mula Mustafe Bašeskije
Obala Kulina Bana runs west to east and upstream, or parallel to the right bank of the Miljacka River, from Skenderija Bridge to Šeher-Ćehajina Ćuprija.
An electric tram line was installed on this street back in 1895, making Sarajevo one of the first cities in the region to have such a means of transportation.
The street was laid out at the end of the 19th century when the Miljacka River was being regulated and it was initially called Appel Quay, after Baron Johann von Appel, then National Government Administrator.
In 1919, following the First World War, which was triggered by the assassination carried out right on the corner of Appel Quay and what is now Zelenih Beretki, the former was renamed Obala Vojvode Stepe Stepanovića, after the Serbian military leader and hero of the Great War.
Between 1941 and 1945 it was called Obala Adolfa Hitlera, and then Obala Vojvode Stepe was again used after liberation.
The current name, Obala Kulina Bana, has been in use since 1993, when the last war was still raging. It takes its name from Bosnia’s first major ruler, Kulin Ban, who ruled from 1180 to 1204 and whose Charter from August 29, 1189 permitted Dubrovnikans to trade freely throughout the Banate of Bosnia.
The Charter of Kulin Ban is Bosnia’s oldest preserved written document and one of the oldest of its kind among the South Slavic peoples. An original copy of the document is kept in Saint Petersburg at the Academy of Sciences.