Mula Mustafe Bašeskije
Bazardžani Street runs south to north, from Obala Kulina Bana to Ćurčiluk Veliki and encounters Kundurdžiluk and Ćurčiluk Mali along the way.
It meets the two perpendicular streets (Kundurdžiluk and Ćurčiluk Mali) on its stretch along the western wall of Brusa Bezistan, and on its northern end it runs right into the southern entrance to Kolobara Han.
Given that this street connected the Emperor’s Mosque with Brusa Bezistan and Kolobara Han – Sarajevo’s earliest buildings – it is clear that this is one of the oldest streets in town. It is thought that it was laid out as early as 1460, not long after Isa Bey Ishaković laid the first foundations for the city on the Miljacka.
Throughout the Ottoman period, this street was called Kolobara Han Sokak and at the beginning of Austro-Hungarian rule, which lasted from 1878 to 1885, it was given the name, Put Kolobara. From 1885 to 1890 it was called Kolobara and then in 1890 it was changed to Bazardžani, a name it has retained to this day.
During the Ottoman period, the word, bazardžani, was used to refer to merchants and importers of Oriental and mostly manufactured goods. Up until 1890, Bazardžani was the name given to the eastern part of Ćurčiluk Veliki, which runs along the northern side of Brusa Bezistan, from today’s Bazardžani to Abadžiluk St.