Mula Mustafe Bašeskije
Čizmedžiluk Street runs along the eastern side of the courtyard of Gazi Husrev Bey’s Mosque.
It can be entered from the north via Sarači St. and it runs into Ćurčiluk Veliki St. in the south. Kazazi St. lies to the east and runs parallel to Čizmedžiluk, and they are connected by a short and narrow passage.
This street was first laid out in the 16th century, the golden age of Ottoman Sarajevo, as Čizmedžijska Čaršija. It took its name from čizmedžijas, artisans who produced and sold shoes for streetwear, primarily boots, but also khuffs (leather socks), moccasins, slippers and ladies’ shoes.
At one time, this trade was one of the most developed in Sarajevo’s old čaršija. However, the appearance of cheaper, mass produced goods spelled the end of this craft.
The last čizmedžija shop in čaršija, and in all of Sarajevo for that matter, closed its doors in 1947. This marked the end of a tradition that had existed for more than 400 years.
The name of this street, which hasn’t changed since it first took shape, is all that remains of the old trade.
Čizmedžiluk is one of the most attractive streets in Baščaršija and is now home to several popular establishments and traditional sweet shops.