Obala Isa-bega Ishakovića
There are two streets in Sarajevo’s old Čaršija that make use of the name, “Ćurčiluk” – Ćurčiluk Veliki and Ćurčiluk Mali. Both are located to the south of Bey’s Mosque and run parallel to one another, west to east.
Ćurčiluk Veliki is further north and runs from Gazi Husrev-Begova St. in the east to Abadžiluk St., while its counterpart to the south, Ćurčiluk Mali, is somewhat shorter and runs from Gazi Husrev-Begova St. to Bazardžani St.
These streets were once part of Ćurčijska Čaršija, which formed in the 16th century and was the largest and most well-stocked čaršija during the Ottoman period.
The shops located here had master ćurčijas (leatherworkers) and since leather was very popular during the Ottoman period, this bazaar was home to a large number of artisans who worked with this material, as well as many leather traders.
Information from the second half of the 18th century puts the number of such artisans working in Ćurčijska Čaršija at that time at 353.
After Austro-Hungarian occupation, the leatherworking trade began to die out and the last traditional leatherworker to remain in Čaršija was Đorđe Hadžidamjanović, who kept his shop until he passed away in 1929.
Both Ćurčiluks were badly damaged in a fire that swept through this part of Sarajevo on August 8, 1879, when the shops and storehouses on both streets were totally destroyed.
European-style buildings were later built in their place, and they now shape the overall appearance of Ćurčiluk Veliki and Ćurčiluk Mali.