Obala Isa-bega Ishakovića
Branilaca Sarajeva runs west to east, from Radićeva to Trg Oslobođenje - Alija Izetbegović.
The section that begins at Radićeva and runs to Šenoina formed as a smaller street in Hadži Idrisova mahala in the 16th century. This neighborhood was known as Žabljak, so the small street went by the same name.
The section between Šenoina and Kulovića was first called Čajirdžik, or Čejdžik, after the Turkish word, čayirdžik (meadow).
The part further to the east, up to what is now Central Hotel, was called Put Kuluk-česma, after the fountain in the sword makers’ bazaar.
During Austro-Hungarian rule, the small street between Latinska Ćuprija and BBI Center was named after Emperor Franz Joseph (Franje Josipa). During the time of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia it was called Kralja Petra, under NDH it was named Ulica Broj 1 and then renamed Jugoslovenske Narodne Armije in 1946.