Obala Kulina bana
Kulovića Street is located in the center of Sarajevo. Running south to north, it passes along the western side of the National Theater, intersects Branilaca Sarajeva St. and connects two larger roads, Obala Kulina Bana and Maršala Tita, both of which run along tram routes.
The section of the street between Maršala Tita and Branilaca Sarajeva was in use even during the Ottoman period and was called Sokak Sulejmana Ruždije Kulovića. Shortened to just Kulovića in 1885, it took its name from a prominent Sarajevo judge who lived here. He donated money for a fountain that once stood near Kalin Hadži Alija’s Mosque, which was knocked down in 1947.
Sulejman Efendi’s son, Esad Kulović, was elected Mayor of Sarajevo three times between 1905 and 1913 and he lived in a villa that was designed by Karl Paržik and built on the corner of Kulovića and Branilaca Sarajeva.
On April 6, 1946, Kulovića and Pozorišna were joined to form a single street that was named after Slobodan Princip Seljo, a communist hero from WWII who died of typhus in March 1942.
The name, Kulovića, was restored in May 1994.