Trg Fra Grge Martića 2
Type: The Bridges of Sarajevo
Čobanija Bridge is located near the National Theater and the Main Post Office and connects Kulovića Street on the right bank of the Miljacka River with Čobanija Street on the left.
The first wooden bridge to be built on this spot was raised in 1557 by Čoban Hasan Vojvoda and the bridge, street, near-by mosque and entire neighborhood on the left bank of the Miljacka were all named after him.
Wooden bridges were often carried away by the swollen Miljacka River and, following one such flooding, the bridge was rebuilt by Sheikh Hasan Kaimija, after which it came to be known by Sarajevans as both Šejhanija and Čobanija Bridge.
In 1888, Austro-Hungarian authorities erected a steel bridge on this very spot, as designed by engineer, Adolf Kunerth. From 1921 to 1994 the bridge was called Masarikov Most, after the Czech statesman and philosopher, Tomaš Masarik. The bridge was again re-named Čobanija in 1994.
Čobanija was badly damaged during the last war and underwent a full renovation in 1998.