Mula Mustafe Bašeskije
Gimnazijska connects Obala Kulina Bana (south) with the Zelenih Beretki, Branilaca Sarajeva and Muhameda Kantardžića junction (north), and is on the border between Stari Grad and Centar Municipalities.
It was formed between 1886 and 1891, when Austro-Hungarian authorities had the first Boy’s Gymnasium (now First Gymnasium) and Teachers’ School (Safvet-beg Bašagić Primary School) built where houses and gardens had stood along the Miljacka.
At that time, it was called Gimnazijska, and a third school (Mala Realka), which now serves as the Fine Arts High School, was built in 1906.
These schools, along with the Officers’ Casino (Home of the Armed Forces of BiH) and the Bank on the Obala (Privredna Banka Sarajevo), were the first completely surrounded complexes built for specific purposes by Austria-Hungary in Sarajevo.
In 1919, during the period of the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes, it was named after Serbian poet Jovan “Zmaj” Jovanović; during occupation (1941-1945) it was called Školska; after liberation it was again called Jovana Jovanovića Zmaja, and the name Gimnazijska was restored in 1994.