Trg Karla Paržika / Fra Anđela Zvizdovića
Type: Architecture, Historical, National Treasure
The building known as the Bank on Obala was built according to designs by architect Rudolf Tönnies in 1913 for a branch of Austro-Hungarian Bank.
After Austro-Hungary annexed BiH, tons of construction projects got underway, especially after a statute went into effect on January 1, 1909, which stated that all objects built from January 1, 1909 until December 31, 1912 would be exempt from taxes for 20 years.
At that time, projects along the right bank of the Miljacka, from Vijećnica to Drvenija Bridge, could only be two stories high, and those built from Drvenija to Skenderija had to be single story buildings and have a courtyard facing the river.
The location for the bank building was chosen because it was close to the officers’ casino and barracks, and was located in a row of buildings from the same period. This building was one of the rare examples of a structure that contained classical architectural elements used at the beginning of the Sarajevo Secession period.
After WWII it housed Investiciona Banka, and is now home to Privredna Banka Sarajevo.
This object was made a National Monument of BiH in 2009.