Obala Kulina bana
The street, Obala Isa-bega Ishakovića, runs along the left bank (obala) of the Miljacka River, stretching from Šeher-Ćehajina Ćuprija to Latinska Ćuprija.
It was here that Sarajevo’s urban center began to take shape, especially when Isa-bey Ishaković commissioned a mosque, known as Careva (Emperor’s) Mosque, which he offered as a gift to Sultan Mehmed Fatih in 1457.
During the Ottoman period this street had two different sections: Tahmis, which referred to the monopoly on coffee roasting that the state enjoyed; and Zildžijska Čaršija, after zildžijas, craftsmen who made items, such as bells and measuring scales, etc. from bronze and brass.
The regulation of the Miljacka gave rise to a new street called Careva. In 1914 the name was changed to Sultana Mehmeda Rešada, and then back to Careva Street in 1919.
In 1925 it became Careva Obala, while the name Francuska Obala was used in 1927. From 1941 to 1945 it was called Reisa Čauševića St., and then after 1945 it bore the name Obala Pariške Komune.
The name, Obala Isa-bega Ishakovića, has been in use since 1993 in honor of Sarajevo’s founder, who is apparently buried in the courtyard of Careva Mosque.