Sime Milutinovića Sarajlije is a short street in the old part of town, running from Obala Kulina Bana (south) to Zelenih Beretki (north).
It developed during the Ottoman period as part of Franačka Mahala, known as “Latinluk,” as it was first inhabited by Dubrovnican traders and Catholics and later by Orthodox residents.
Up until the Austro-Hungarian period, it was called Hadži-Trifkovića Sokak, after an old Sarajevo Serb family who had a home here.
In 1878 it took the name Trifkovića St., after the same Serb family, only to be renamed Koturova (1895-1915), after Dušan Kotur, a Zemun trader who helped the city financially after the great fire of 1879.
In 1919 it was named after writer and historian Sima Milutinović, who, being proud of his hometown, added “Sarajlija” to his name.
During WWII it bore the name of Mostar journalist and author, Ivan Aziz Milićević, and the name Sime Milutinovića Sarajlije was reinstated on August 20, 1945.
This street is home to the Museum of Literature and the Performing Arts in BiH and the Prosvjeta building.