Type: Architecture, Religious, Historical
Bakr-Baba’s Mosque is located next to the At Mejdan archaeological park in the Old Town, on the left bank of the Miljacka River, just a bit east of Ćumurija Bridge.
The original mosque was built in 1544 as part of the
At that time, this edifice was considered one of Sarajevo’s loveliest and largest mosques, with a minaret that reached a height of about 30 meters. The complex also included a
When Eugene of Savoy sacked Sarajevo in October 1697, the mosque went up in flames.
A new mosque was built on the same spot in 1700, but it later caught on fire and was rebuilt by neighborhood residents.
In 1741 or 1742, Hajji Ismail
It began to lose its original function at the beginning of the 19th century, with the imposition of
Immediately following Austro-Hungarian occupation, Bakr-Baba’s Mosque was turned into a military storehouse and the mosque and
It was during the first decade of the 21st century that work got underway to excavate the archeological remains of the mosque and its adjacent buildings, at the behest of the learned Islamic scholar, Hajji Hafez Halid Efendi Hadžimulić.
A smaller but more modern mosque was built on the unearthed foundations of the old mosque and it was officially opened on June 27, 2011.
The interior of the mosque features the longest stone
It was Halid Efendi Hadžimulić who initiated the idea for these stone inscriptions, and the