Obala Kulina bana 1
Type: Architecture, Religious, Historical, National Treasure
Hajji Sinan's Tekke, also known as Silahdar Mustafa-Pasha’s Tekke, is owned and operated by the Qadiri Dervish Order and was built between 1638 and 1640.
No Reservations needed
It is presumed that funding for the tekke’s construction was provided by the wealthy Sarajevo merchant, Hajji Sinan, or his son, Mustafa Pasha, who worked as an armorer and served Sultan Murat IV.
The tekke was designed by the architect, Kasim Aga, from Albania, who also designed some buildings within the Sultan’s Topkapi Palace complex in Istanbul.
Sinan Tekke’s greatest visual attraction is the calligraphy design on the wall of the courtyard. Known as “Suleiman’s Seal”, the rosette design is nearly three meters wide with the words, “There is no God but God, and Muhammad is his Messenger”, painted 12 times in the fresco style.
There is a tomb with two headstones in the cemetery next to the tekke, where Hajji Sinan and his wife were interred.
In 1768, the first asylum for psychiatric patients was opened in Hajji Sinan’s Tekke, marking the beginning of organized health care in BiH.