Đulagina Street connects Mula Mustafe Bašeskije St. and Sarači St.
It was laid out in the 16th century and, at that time, there was a han (inn) that was part of Gazi Husrev Bey’s endowment, which took up the entire western half of the street (where the new building for Gazi Husrev Bey’s Medresa is now located). Records from that period state that the inn was called Novi Han, or New Inn.
At the end of the 18th century and beginning of the 19th century, a man by the name of Đul Mustafa (son of the flag bearer, Ibrahim Aga) was leasing the inn and the facility was named after him, first as Đulov Han and then as Đulagin Han.
For some time during the mid-1700s it served as a prison, following the rebellion led by Bosnian nobles (beys and agas), which was put down by Omer Pasha Latas.
Back then, the name of a street would normally take the name of the han or, in this case, its lessee. During the Ottoman period, the street was first known as Đulagin Han, then Đulov Han (1878-1885), then again Đulagin Han (1885-1895), until finally taking its current name, Đulagina St., in 1895.
The street had an even older name, Pred Magazama, in reference to the old stone storehouses which are still there and serve as remnants of Hajji Bešir’s Han.
Halfway down Đulagina St., on its eastern side, there is a passage that leads to a large courtyard. Both of these taken together are considered a separate “street” called Đulagina Čikma, whose southern end comes out onto Sarači Street.
This short street has had the same name since 1921, but from 1910 until 1921 this čikma (blind alley) was called Hajji Bešir’s Han.