Trg Fra Grge Martića 2
Type: Architecture, Historical, The Bridges of Sarajevo
Kozija Ćuprija (Goat Bridge) is the only fully preserved bridge from the Ottoman period which still spans the Miljacka River.
It was built in the 16th century on Carska Džada, the road that led from Sarajevo all the way to the seat of the empire – Istanbul.
The spot along the Miljacka where the bridge was erected is not very wide and it’s set firmly into the rock, making it easy to see why this particular site was chosen as the best location in the entire area.
The bridge, which is made primarily of white hreša (marble), is a harmonious structure with one main arch and two round openings which help support the weight.
While it isn’t known how the bridge got its name, it seems that the nearby settlement, Jarčedoli, presumably takes its name from the residents who used to herd goats here.
The oldest written record of this bridge was made by Mula Mustafa Bašeškija, who noted in 1771 that a stone wall was built from Kozija Čuprija all the way to Alifakovac.
Back in the old days, the bridge was a site for those who would welcome the Ottoman viziers or see off departing pilgrims.