Zelenih beretki 1
Type: Architecture, Historical, National Treasure
The Stari Grad Hotel complex comprises what used to be Gazi Hotel, which was part of the Gazi Husrev Bey Vakuf (GHB endowment), and the Kadić family residence.
The first inn erected on this spot, Kolluk Han, was built in 1697, on land belonging to the Kulin Hajji Balija Vakuf. The mosque on Čekaluša Street was built by Kulin Hajji Balija in the 16th century. The single-story inn was in private hands until 1778, when the last owner, Sheik Hajji Idriz, sold it to the GHB Vakuf.
The inn went up in flames during a fire in 1908 and the structure seen today was built on the same spot in 1909. Architect Josip Vacaš was in charge of the project and Josip Pospišil was responsible for the drawings.
At the beginning of the 20th century, Gazi Hotel was one of the most luxurious hotels in Sarajevo. The ground floor had a pharmacy and photo studio, and the western side continued to maintain a residential section.
The hotel was nationalized in 1946, and, when it became part of the organization, Balkan, the name was changed to Stari Grad Hotel. The ground floor was used by many different restaurants up until the time of the Siege of Sarajevo (1992-1995).
The building was shelled several times during the war, refugees moved in and the kitchen in the inner courtyard area was used by the Red Cross.
In 2003, the GHB Vakuf was again given administrative authority over the building to oversee its functions and rent out part of it. The lower level is home to Stari Grad Aščinica, and the Kadić family sold their residential unit, which is now a hostel.
This historical building, which is now overseen by the GHB Vakuf and called “Gazi,” has been on the list of National Monuments of BiH since 2008.