Ali Pasha’s Mosque
Hamze Hume bb
Type: Architecture, Historical, National Treasure
Originally the Zakladni Dom (Home of the Founders) for the Croatian cultural association, Napredak, this palace was built in the Secession style with Pseudo Moorish elements, as designed by Dioniz Sukno of Zagreb.
About 12,000 participants and officials from BiH and Croatia attended the opening of the palace on September 27, 1913. The famous architect, Josip Vancaš, who was also in attendance, accompanied the opera singers on piano.
This building was the first in Sarajevo to have an elevator, and the palace, which long served as the center of cultural and social life in Sarajevo, actually comprises three interconnected units.
The front-facing section is an enormous three-story unit that looks out onto Maršala Tita Street and is nestled between Finci Palace and Salom Palace.
In 1913, Romanija Cinema, which later became Imperijal Cinema, opened in the second section. Today it houses the multi-purpose facility, BIS. Some years before that, the space was occupied by a few cafe-sweet shops – Sabo, Palma and Imperijal.
During the 1970s, the basement (below the cinema level) served as a puppet theater and was later home to Sarajevo’s first cabaret. Today it is home to the club, Underground.
The third section of the palace is a four-story residential unit that houses Kamerni Theater 55 (Chamber Thetrer 55).
This historical building was made a National Monument of BiH in 2015.