Obala Isa-bega Ishakovića
Skenderija runs west-east, from where it meets Terezije at KSC Skenderija, to where it joins Hamdije Kreševljakovića at the Faculty of Political Science.
It is presumed that, even before the Ottomans came there was a small path that ran through the fields on the left bank of the Miljacka. In the 16th century, Ottoman Governor Skender Pasha had a trading center, caravanserai, palace, mosque, soup kitchen, tekke and bridge built where Skenderija and its surroundings are today.
A residential quarter, Skender-pašina Mahala (locally known as Skenderija), grew up around these objects.
Today’s street began to form in the mahala during the Austro-Hungarian period. Early on, it extended to the east, but only up to the crossing with Fehima Efendije Ćurčića and Soukbunar, where Skenderija Čikma splinters off to the southeast as a blind alley.
In 1904, two other streets became part of Skenderija: Mutni Potok, which ran east from Fehima Efendije Ćurčića to Čobanija; and Zeleni Mejdan, which ran from Čobanija to what is now Hamdije Kreševljakovića.