Obala Isa-bega Ishakovića
Brodac Street runs along the western side of Vijećnica and joins the streets, Telali and Obala Kulina Bana.
This short streetwas first laid out in 1896 with the completion of Vijećnica (city hall). It finally acquired the status of an actual street in 1910 and was called Vijećnička, given its close proximity to the seat of Sarajevo’s city government.
At the end of 1959 it was named after Benjamin Finci Binjo, an active member of the Workers’ and Communist Party movement, who was arrested in 1929. Binjo was brutally murdered and his body thrown from a window of Beledija Prison which, at that time, was located opposite Vijećnica. It served as the city’s main prison until after the Second World War.
The current name, Brodac, has been in use since 1993 and it is also the name of the medieval settlement that was located on the right bank of the Miljacka, several hundred meters further upriver at Bentbaša, at the entrance to Sarajevo, coming from the direction of Pale.
It is presumed that the settlement was named after a gaz (ford) on the Miljacka River, which had been called brod, or brodac, in ages past.
It was near this settlement that the founder of Sarajevo, Isa Bey Ishaković, had a zavija (dervish lodge) built at the end of the 15th century, making it one of the first structures erected with the founding of his seher (city).