Terezija runs along the left bank of the Miljacka, from the Suada and Olga Bridge and the junction with Zagrebačka St. (west), to KSC Skenderija and the intersection with Skenderija and Hamdije Kreševljakovića (northeast).
It dates back to the Middle Ages, when it was a path that ran along the Miljacka, and at the beginning of the 16th century, Skender-Pasha’s mahala (known locally as Skenderija) was formed along with this road.
The path that Terezija follows today was shortened in 1931.
From 1946 to 1954, it was called Đure Đakovića, after the Croatian politician, union leader and one of the founders of the Communist Party of Yugoslavia (KPJ); from 1954 to 1994 it was called Miće Sokolovića, in honor of the labor leader and organizer of the workers’ movement and May strikes in Sarajevo in 1906.
The name Terezija was restored in the spring of 1994.