Obala Kulina bana
Sarači is the longest street in Baščaršija. Running west to east, it goes from Gazi Husrev-Begova St. and the popular SlatkoĆoše (Sweet Corner) to Baščaršija St. (Baščaršija Square).
The origins of this street date back to Isa Bey Ishaković’s vakufnama of 1462. This deed of endowment serves as Sarajevo’s “birth certificate” and records the first mention of this street.
However, it seems that Sarači only received the status of a čaršija during the time of Gazi Husrev Bey’s administration. It was in 1531 that he had 60 shops built along Sarači St., bequeathing them to the city through his own endowment. These shops were charged with duties related to maintaining his mosque, soup kitchen and dervish lodge.
Gazi Husrev Bey’s Mosque and Hanikah are still located on Sarači, as are Gazi Husrev Bey’s Museum (once Kuršumlija Medresa), the new Gazi Husrev Bey Medresa, Morića Han, Kolobara Han…. This street takes its name from sarači, artisans who produced various items made from leather, especially equipment used with horses.
Sarači has been connected to Ferhadija Street since 1928 and when they were joined together as one street it was called Prijestolonasljednika Petra.
The street’s original name was restored in 1941 and has not been changed since then.