Veliki Alifakovac runs from Šeher-Ćehajina Bridge up to a point beyond Alifakovac Cemetery, whose tombs serve as a Sarajevo symbol.
It is thought that the entire Alifakovac mahala, home to the street and cemetery, takes its name from Ali Fakih, a lawyer and scholar who is listed as a witness in Isa Bey’s endowment from 1462, Sarajevo’s “birth certificate.”
In the first city plan from 1882, it was called Carina, in reference to the customs area at the street’s eastern end, where goods coming from the East were processed. For this reason, an adjacent street was called Pod Carinom, and then Podcarina, its current name.
It was later named Veliki Alifakovac (1885) and then Stojana Protića (1931), after the Serbian politician and first premier of the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes.
It was renamed Veliki Alifakovac (1941-45), and then bore the name, Vladimira Gaćinovića (1946-96), after the founder of Mlada Bosna, a revolutionary group whose members carried out the Sarajevo Assassination.
It has been called Veliki Alifakovac since 1996.